Music for string quartets of Robert Crawford. Edit




  • 1948-1957. (Creation)


  • 72 Leaves (Whole)



  • Conditions Governing Access

    Normal access conditions apply.

  • Conditions Governing Use

    Normal reproduction conditions apply, subject to any copyright restrictions.

  • Scope and Contents

    The music consists of the following. (i) Autograph draft of String Quartet number 1, opus 4 (folio 1), apparently begun in 1948 and completed in 1950 (folio 34 verso). The quartet was published in 1953. The music at folios 1-15 corresponds to the first two movements and that at folios 16-18, 19 to pages 17-19, 22-23 of the 3rd movement in the published score. The music at folios 20-30 seems to form no part of the published score, whilst that at folios 31-34, which is numbered 6, appears as the last (fourth) movement. (ii) Autograph draft (folio 35) and fair copy, in ink (folio 58), of String Quartet number 2, opus 8, apparently begun in 1956 and completed in 1957. The quartet was published in 1958. Some of the leaves used in each work had already been used. In particular, folios 7 verso and 15 verso contain, inverted, a fair copy in ink of the opening bars, and a draft beginning of the fourth movement, of an apparently unpublished string quartet number 3.

  • Arrangement

    72 + a few blank folios.

  • Immediate Source of Acquisition

    Presented, 1969, by Robert Crawford, Dalhousie Grange.