Skip to main content

First treble, second treble, and bass part books of pieces of music, chiefly dances, for viols., 3rd quarter of 17th century.

Identifier: MSS.9455-9457

Scope and Contents

The pieces are in three groups:

Sixteen unnamed pieces (folios 1-6 in treble parts, 1-5 verso in bass);

Pieces numbered to 25 (actually 23), composers named being Christopher Simpson and John Jenkins (folios 6 verso-19, 6 verso-18, 6-18);

Thirty-five pieces, possibly of French origin, complete only in the bass part (1-3 missing in first treble, and 1-11 in second treble), (folios 37 verso-47, 32 verso-39 verso, 33 verso-43 verso).


  • Creation: 3rd quarter of 17th century.

Conditions Governing Access

Normal access conditions apply.

Conditions Governing Use

Normal reproduction conditions apply, subject to any copyright restrictions.


3 Volumes ; Oblong octavo.

Repository Details

Part of the National Library of Scotland Archives and Manuscripts Division Repository

Archives and Manuscript Division
National Library of Scotland
George IV Bridge
Edinburgh EH1 1EJ
0131 623 3700