Skip to main content

'Arie diverse per il violino Preludij Alemande Sarabande Correnti Gighe Fantasie Sminuite ed altre Toccate a due corde composizione Di Nicola Matteis napolitano', being 110 pieces of music for violin and figured bass., 1681-1682.

Identifier: MS.9464

Scope and Contents

This is one of several copies (another is British Library Hirsch MS. IV. 1633) of these pieces made for distinguished people. It is possible that this particular copy is in Nicola Matteis's autograph (see Michael Tilmouth, 'Nicola Matteis', in ‘Musical Quarterly’, January 1959, page 27).

On folios 114-117 (reversed) are figured bass parts of ten pieces from the opera 'Atis' by Jean Baptiste Lully.


  • Creation: 1681-1682.

Conditions Governing Access

Normal access conditions apply.

Conditions Governing Use

Normal reproduction conditions apply, subject to any copyright restrictions.


117 Leaves ; Oblong octavo.


117 folios.

Custodial History

The manuscript was previously deposited in the National Library of Scotland, 1957.

Immediate Source of Acquisition

Bought, 1979.

Repository Details

Part of the National Library of Scotland Archives and Manuscripts Division Repository

Archives and Manuscript Division
National Library of Scotland
George IV Bridge
Edinburgh EH1 1EJ
0131 623 3700