Corrected full score of 'Thomas the Rhymer', an opera in four acts by David Johnson. Edit




  • 1974-1976. (Creation)


  • 112 Leaves (Whole)



  • Conditions Governing Access

    Normal access conditions apply.

  • Conditions Governing Use

    Normal reproduction conditions apply, subject to any copyright restrictions.

  • Scope and Contents

    The opera is based on the Border ballad collected by Sir Walter Scott (folio 1). Of the many corrections the most substantial are the additional leaves at folios 11, 21, 35, 38 (formerly stapled to folio 39), 45 (formerly stapled to folio 44) 46, 53-54, 57 and 100 (formerly stapled to folio 101). Leaves are cut out after folio 80 and 108. The score is preceded by a typed press release (folio i) and a printed programme (folio iii) of the premiere, which was performed in Edinburgh in 1976.

  • Arrangement

    iv + 108 folios.

  • Custodial History

    The score was bought by the National Library of Scotland with the aid of the Murdoch Henderson Fund.

  • Immediate Source of Acquisition

    Bought, 1979.